• on November 15, 2022

PTCWA Outstanding Professional Service Award for Mr Nino Arvind Raju

The West Australian Modern Greek Language Teachers’ Association Inc. (WAMGLTA) is proud to announce that Mr Nino Arvind Raju was this year’s recipient of the Professional Teaching Council of Western Australia (PTCWA) Outstanding Professional Service Award.

Nino was honoured with the Award at the 2022 Presentation Ceremony, which took place on Wednesday 19 October at the Karrinyup Country Club.

In attendance were the Chair of WAMGLTA, Dr Angela Evangelinou-Yiannakis, the Deputy Chair, Ms Maria Svarnou, and our successful nominee and Secretary of WAMGLTA, Mr Nino Raju and his wife. Also in attendance was the Principal of Immaculate Heart College (IHC), Mrs Sammantha Da Luz, and the Registrar, Mrs Tamara Carpenter, both proudly supporting Mr Raju who is a staff member of the school. Furthermore, we were delighted that the Honourable Consul of Greece, Mrs Georgia Karasiotou attended as well to witness the event.

Nino’s key contributions to WAMGLTA include:

  • Being the Secretary of WAMGLTA since joining the Committee in February 2021.
  • Taking over the role of Webmaster from July 2021, and executing all duties with timely diligence and care.
  • Attending all Greek National Day Wreath-laying Ceremonies in representation of WAMGLTA and also of IHC.
  • Attending all formal meetings and events related to WAMGLTA and the Greek language and culture.
  • Assisting Mr George Anastassiadis in coordinating the Modern Greek Curriculum (language and culture) at IHC, inclusive of Greek National Day Assemblies and the school’s representation at Greek Consular events, such as the three Wreath-laying Ceremonies held annually (Greek Independence Day in March, The Battle of Crete in May, and OXI Day in October).
  • Overseeing IHC’s participation in the annual WAMGLTA Speak Greek in June Competition/Event.
  • Demonstrating the qualities of a true philhellene through his investment of time and effort in the promotion and maintenance of the Greek language and culture.

WAMGLTA extends heart-felt congratulations to Nino for his recent award from the PTCWA!

Previous WAMGLTA recipients of the PTCWA Outstanding Professional Service Award are:

  • 2017: Dr Angela Evangelinou-Yiannakis
  • 2018: Dr Angela Evangelinou-Yiannakis
  • 2019: Ms Irene Starr
  • 2020: WAMGLTA
  • 2021: Mrs Nina Stamatiou
  • 2022: Mr Nino Arvind Raju

WAMGLTA looks forward to nominating more of its members for this prestigious award in the years to come.

Dr Angela Evangelinou-Yiannakis
WAMGLTA Chairperson
13 November 2022

Recent Post
Skin Color
Layout Options
Layout patterns
Boxed layout images
header topbar
header color
header position